Rich Responses

March 12, 2007 at 22:26:05 1 comment

Someone emailed to tell me they had read my Richest People in America list on reddit which, by the way, is a work in progress. I am using Forbes release last week as the beginning of a project to find 400 of the REAL Richest People in America by September when they will release their 400 Richest Americans list. When I first thought about doing this, I must confess I had some conflicting thoughts. Questions popped into my mind like “Would people give credence to a list created by individual?” and “How do you quantity a list in a world that likes metrics?” Rather than over analyze each of those questions and wait until I had a established a very methodical process for finding RICH people, I decided to just do it and make it a work in progress. After all, finished is better than perfect. I felt that since no one (that I can see) is offering an alternative to Forbes list, it needed to be done. Also, how can one measure the impact giving has on the world? Who’s to say that dramatically changing the economic opportunities in one small village or town isn’t as important as a philanthropist who gives away millions? I knew there would be people who would think it was great and I am thankful for that. I also knew that there would be many who would be critical. But I also know this, if you do nothing, people will be critical. It’s human nature. All I am attempting is to use my voice both as a professional speaker and writer to call attention to all kinds of people and businesses who use their passion to make a difference. If people start thinking deeper about the issues and what it means to be rich, that is a start. I welcome the responses both supportive and challenging. It makes me think deeper too.

I took a few comments I saw on Reddit and posted below.
“I get it. They are rich in heart.”

“You are as rich as you choose to be. If you are happy with what you have and don’t need to take from others to maintain that state, then you are as rich as Bill Gates.”

“In the end, if there is an item that the really rich people have, it is time, not money. I’ve often felt sorry for the people I see running around with pinched faces on Bay Street in Toronto, they didn’t have time, nor will they have it ever less they suddenly reject everything that keeps them running around like that.”

“It’s funny that pirates were always going around searching for treasure, and they never realized that the real treasure was the fond memories they were creating.”

“Before actually clicking the link, I mocked the title as something that would have some sappy dog orphanage stories on it, but then when I actually saw what it was, I was shocked to see that it was just that! I am all for volunteering (I volunteer every week at the local food not bombs), but it doesn’t make you the richest person in America.”

“It’s nice to see something inspiring and heartwarming on reddit for a change.”

“Very inspiring stories… thank you for posting the link!”

“Do-gooders.

“Berkshire has said that it lost about $3.4 billion to hurricanes Katrina, Rita and Wilma during 2005. $3.4 billion. Of course, it didn’t really “lose” the money, but rather upheld it’s end of the deal that all insurance companies make. Adam Smith is alive and well–and I think that you’ll find many, not all, but many people with a charitable mindset are indulging in a form of self-therapy, or are enjoying cushy administrative sinecures (at large orgs, like the Red Cross), but without the pressures of the competitive world.”

Entry filed under: The Richest People in America.

To B or not to B a Billionaire Blog has moved

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Susan Jint  |  August 15, 2013 at 22:26:05

    Only an asshole would drive a Tesla car. The Tesla is the official car of corrupt pricks who bribe Congress

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tim’s Page

>>The Richest People in America
Tim Richardson's personal web site.

Pages